Facebook tests content deletion schedule feature on mobile apps

Facebook is testing a new feature designed to allow users to choose when they want their posts to expire from the timeline.

The tool, currently being trialed on the iOS app on a select few accounts, seemingly based in the US, will allow users to select when they want their posts and photo content to be deleted from their profiles.

The mobile scheduler, which was added on to many accounts without warning by the firm, was first noticed by app users earlier this week.

It will enable posts to expire after selected periods of one, three, six, 12 and 24 hours. Alternatively, content can also be scheduled for deletion after two or seven days.

 

 

Notably, if the expiring-content feature was widely adopted, Facebook would come substantially closer to destructible photo app Snapchat’s model.

A Facebook spokesperson told the Next Web: “We’re running a small pilot of a feature on Facebook for iOS that lets people schedule deletion of their posts in advance.”

The social network often introduces small feature tweaks to small sample groups in this manner, however.

On Wednesday the firm even gave the go ahead to roll out its privacy-protecting Dinosaur advisor which was also tested in such a manner.

 

Leave a Reply